Be A Hero for Someone With Epilepsy

BE someone’s Hero!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lgsmash
    Jun 11, 2011 @ 18:18:06

    Hey There! I’m glad you found my blog – I’m glad I can offer some help/insight with my experiences. It’s been a long road for me with it – diagnosed when i was ten, 5 total surgeries later (ages 10, 15 and 16) and now I’m looking at surgery AGAIN. Please don’t take my experience as a grim sentencing though – I’m not sure the ‘severity’ of mine but it seems to be more problematic than the 2 other adults I’ve met who have OCD.

    Also – I wanted to say that it’s so great that you are blogging about epilepsy as well! I’m sorry to hear that your daughter has it (same one?). My best friend was recently diagnosed with non-epileptic psychogenic seizures. Although not epilepsy, the seizures are still quite scary. We are actually doing a walk for the local epilepsy foundation tomorrow morning. You’ll find a blog post about it tomorrow. 🙂

    Anyway – let’s keep in touch! I’d love to help anyway possible – I’ve got a post coming up about my full experience/story with OCD and have asked my parents each to do one as well to offer perspective for parents like you who are just learning about OCD and what to expect. If you’re on twitter, you can find me at @lgsmash.

    Reply

    • alicorndreams
      Jun 11, 2011 @ 18:39:12

      Yes… same daughter. And yes… seizures are seriously scary. Have fun in the walk! I tried to organize one locally and failed epically. I tried to volunteer for the one put on locally by the local epilepsy foundation and I had to beg to help out and never did get much in the way of… hey… sure… help here. So I walk (I walk very fast… but I walk) to raise awareness.
      From what I have found on line, multiple surgeries over a period of years is pretty typical… Amandya isn’t thrilled with that… but it is what it is, and it will be what it will be. Right now, she is pretty mad at me for making her go to the dr and deal with this… but I’m pretty sure dealing with it at 17 is the better option.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

