National Novel Writing Month

Okay… as I sit here stalling… no, not me… as I sit here contemplating life… yeah, that sounds better… yeah, yeah, let’s go with that… I realize that it is coming up on NaNoWriMo again (November) and this year I think I totally have a wonderful idea.

I was toying with writing a novel about my farmville town called Kellyville that I keep trying to write about… but I’ve decided that I’m going to use this month to pull together the book I have threatened to write and have yet to get my butt in gear on.

What is it you ask?

Well… it is based not entirely too loosely on the life of a teenager (and family thereof) with epilepsy.  I’m hoping to do it with the help of some wonderful people I’ve met on facebook and who are/have/will be going through the same things that we are and who are at different stages of their own journeys.

I feel like I’m being poked really hard in the back of the head because NaNoWriMo is in November and National Epilepsy Awareness Month and I have a shiny new PubIt account on bn.com where (if I can actually pull this all off) I can publish it in e-book format and donate the profits to further epilepsy awareness.

So here I go… I may regret this… I may wish I had poked myself in the eye with a pencil before I’m done… but…

A Day Like No Other will now be a book title as well… wish me luck and if you have anything you want to have included as a part of the book… please let me know.  I want this to be as far reaching and as informative as it can be… we need to have people understand.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Joel Cobbs
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 18:54:40

    My name is Joel. I found this entry via Google Alerts set for “Epilepsy”. I’ve battled it for 5 years and am happy to say I won out over it.

    I love the idea of you writing a novel about it and would love to talk more with you. I’ve been in a coma, had brain surgery and lots more surrounding my Epilepsy.

    I’m also a writer and am participating in NaNoWriMo. My novel isn’t about Epilepsy but my experiences with it greatly influence my writing stlye.

    Like I said, I’d love to talk to you more about it and do whatever I can to help. PS, don’t stab yourself with a pencil. That hurts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

