Why should I care?

In the grand scheme of things, I keep asking myself… why should I care… I mean really… getting irritated is not really worth the effort that it puts on my body and what we are “caring” about, in the grand scheme of things, really doesn’t “matter”.

I spent a great deal of time today thinking about what people were saying… what people were thinking… and I realized that, all things considered… what they think really doesn’t matter.

Amandya has Epilepsy.  She is, at times, a drama queen.  We are in the middle of finals.

Adam has, I have no doubt, arthritis in his ankle, is graduating in 4 days and is starting to realize that he is starting college in the fall.

Today, I was questioned about a picture that I have of Amandya with her shiny new lip ring (yes, I pierced it… thanks to Sally’s and the sterile piercers).  “Does she really have her lip pierced?”  Yep.  “Really?  And you PERMITTED it?  I would never let my kids ever get anything like that done.  Even if they are 25 years old, I would never permit it.”

I pierced his ears, I pierced his one side of his lip.  I pierced her top of her ear, her nose (that she let grow shut) and now her lip.  I am, apparently, a horrible parent.

My kids know that they can come to me, I will talk to them, hear them and (if in any way reasonable) help them.  They aren’t afraid of me.  This is not going to kill anyone.  If anyone gets infected, we will go to the doctor and have it taken care of with antibiotics.

If it turns out that she hates it, she can let it grow shut.

Why does it even matter to anyone else what I choose to let (help) my kids do?  I know that there are a lot of things that some people don’t approve of (the fact that my kids text me… the fact that they tell me jokes… the fact that they are not put in their places wherever their places are) but you know what… I have finally (thank you for the pat on the head, Amandya… it helped more than you will ever know) come to the conclusion that what other people think of what I let my kids do (within reason) doesn’t really matter and it is THEIR problem… not mine.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. RotcNazi94
    May 24, 2010 @ 18:14:40

    no problem im just glad your realizing what other people think and/or say really doesn’t matter. if i really cared what people think i wouldnt ignore people when they say im dating victoria & i wouldnt have the balls to stand up for what i believe or be able to be the leader im turning into…thanks to lt commander sanders for the last part.

    Reply

  2. Mom
    May 25, 2010 @ 05:24:27

    Way to go girl. You and I walk the same path. Weve been through a lot together and apart and … well … keep on keepin’ on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

